switch to Russian

"False-Faced Art"
Stas Dobry (www.stasdobry.ru), Moscow, August, 2010.

About the author.

The first works by Stas were simple images depicting people. He used traditional graphic means and street art techniques. Soon Stas Dobry turned to problem issues and tried to formulate his own position.

Stas uses strokes and lines as a main pictorial means (technique) that is why his works inevitably present a contrast with the city environment. Simultaneously this effect (singling the artwork out of the environment) combines it with the surface it is painted on to the maximum extent. This style is the marker of the author’s individuality. Considering the fragility and evanescence of street art works, such phrases look neither aggressive nor obtrusive. They just need to be preserved and stay on the walls of the city’s buildings as long as possible.
Since the practice nowadays is to immediately paint over such graffiti works appearing in the city’s streets, street artists try to preserve them by experimenting further and trying to negotiate with the city’s Municipal Services. While thinking this over, Stas Dobruy is experimenting with various forms and by doing this he promotes a discussion inside the street art community.

This is a good example of the way the new generation of street artists sees the further prospects of street art and tries to choose topics for discussion by thinking them over independently as well as arguing over them in the community.

Text by Igor Ponosov.

About the work.

The work by Stas Dobry is entitled False-Faced Art. This is how Stas sees creative work and development of a street artist. The author concentrates on his graffiti instrument, that is, aerosol can spray paint. He signifies the role of this instrument in the subculture. Besides, he denotes the roles of the companies producing it and informs of the fact that those main elements of the culture of consumption, which had dominated the subculture, lost their influence.

The work by Stas Dobry is a symbol of street artist’s freedom of self-expression being limited and suppressed by the stereotypes and rules of play he has to follow. Normally these stereotypes are forced upon artists by corporations in graffiti industry.

This situation reminds us of the early days of graffiti when Subway Art was developing rapidly and speed was the most important factor when working on a new graffiti. In this respect, aerosol spray paint became the most popular medium. Every artist uses this instrument. There is even a cult of using can spray paint in graffiti culture. Many graffiti artists used this medium in the early days of their career. Later it even became a fetish. No doubt this was a limiting factor. Later on, graffiti artists began using other instruments but anyway this subject is extremely significant for the development of an artist. Aerosol spray paint sets street artists free.

Text by Igor Ponosov.

http://www.thewallproject.ru/eng/files/gimgs/19_dobrywall.jpg

switch to English

«Двуличное искусство»
Стас Добрый (www.stasdobry.ru), Москва, август 2010.

Об авторе.

Начиная свой творческий путь с несложных образов людей, выполненных традиционными средствами графики и техник уличного искусства, художник Стас Добрый достаточно скоро обращается к проблематике и пытается обозначить собственную позицию.

Используя в качестве основных изобразительных средств штрихи и линии, работы Стаса неминуемо контрастируют с городским пространством. Эффект выделения художественной работы в то же время максимально интегрирует ее с поверхностью, на которую она нанесена. Можно сказать, что подобный стиль является маркером его индивидуальности, а говоря о скоротечности и недолговечности существования работ уличных художников, подобные высказывания выглядят не агрессивно и не навязчиво, стараясь быть сохраненными на улицах города.

Сегодняшняя ситуация мгновенного закрашивания в городе способствует развитию концепций уличных художников в сторону сохранения их работ путем экспериментирования и возникновения диалога с муниципальными службами. Рефлексируя на подобные темы, Стас Добрый экспериментирует с формами и способствует возникновению дискурса внутри стрит-арт сообщества.

Это хороший пример того, как новое поколение уличных художников уже изначально видит проблематику существования стрит-арта и путем личных размышлений и дискуссий внутри сообщества пытается обозначить темы для обсуждений.

Текст: Игорь Поносов.

О работе.

В своей работе «Двуличное искусство» Стас Добрый обозначает путь развития граффити-художника. Акцентируясь на основном граффити-инструменте (аэрозольная краска в баллончиках), автор обозначает роль инструмента в субкультуре, выявляет роли производящих их корпораций и сообщает о коллапсе влияния главенствующих элементов культуры потребления.

Представленная работа отображает ограничение свободы высказывания уличного художника, находящегося под постоянным прессингом навязанных ему стереотипов и правил игры, которые, в свою очередь, задают корпорации граффити-индустрии.
Подобная ситуация отсылает нас к истории возникновения граффити, в период бурного развития направления «Subway Art», когда наиболее важным параметром исполнения работы была скорость. В связи с этим, наибольшую популярность приобрела спрей-краска, выпускаемая в виде баллончика. Используется этот инструмент повсеместно, в граффити-культуре можно проследить возникновение культа баллончика (многие граффити-художники на пути становления рисовали именно баллончик), а впоследствии — элементы фетишизма. Безусловно, эти факторы являются ограничивающими, что позже позволило использовать и другие инструменты, но в любом случае, данная тема является одной из первостепенных на пути развития и способствует увеличению зоны свободы художника на улице.

Текст: Игорь Поносов.

http://thewallproject.ru/files/gimgs/19_dobrywall.jpg